FREE MEMBERSHIP Includes » ABL Advisor eNews + iData Blasts | JOIN NOW ABLAdvisor Gray ABLAdvisor Blue
Skip Navigation LinksHome / News / Read News


Fredrikson & Byron Wins TMA’s 2018 Chapter Transaction of the Year Award

December 11, 2018, 07:00 AM
Filed Under: Turnaround Management

Fredrikson & Byron won the 2018 Minnesota Chapter Transaction of the Year award from the Turnaround Management Association, Minnesota Chapter (TMA). The TMA will honor award recipients at a special panel presentation, “Aiming at a Moving Target – Using Section 363 to Maximize the Value of Gander Mountain,” on January 17, 2019, at the Minneapolis Club.

Fredrikson’s legal team in the case included Clinton Cutler, Cynthia Moyer, Ryan Murphy, James Brand, Sarah Olson, Steven Kinsella, Shataia Stallings and Sherrie Timm.

As a part of the TMA presentation, Fredrikson & Byron attorney Clinton Cutler will discuss the unique challenges and opportunities presented by the Gander Mountain retail case. The case was one of the few retail cases in recent years that featured a going concern sale for a portion of the assets, along with a liquidation of the bulk of the store merchandise. The unique approach to the case made it more difficult to bring to a successful conclusion than the typical retail liquidation case, but resulted in the preservation of many jobs and an ongoing operating business.

The Turnaround Management Association is the leading organization dedicated to turnaround management, corporate restructuring, and distressed investing. Established in 1988, TMA has more than 9,000 members in 55 chapters worldwide, including 32 in North America. Members include turnaround practitioners, attorneys, accountants, advisors, liquidators, executive recruiters, and consultants, as well as academic, government and judicial employees.

Fredrikson & Byron is a 275-attorney law firm based in Minneapolis, with offices in Bismarck, Des Moines, Fargo, St. Paul, Saltillo, Mexico, and Shanghai, China.

Comments From Our Members

You must be an ABL Advisor member to post comments. Login or Join Now.