FREE MEMBERSHIP Includes » ABL Advisor eNews + iData Blasts | JOIN NOW ABLAdvisor Gray ABLAdvisor Blue
Skip Navigation LinksHome / News / Read News


New Officers and Directors Elected During ABI’s 32nd Annual Spring Meeting

April 30, 2014, 07:14 AM

The following members of the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) were elected to leadership positions as officers and directors during ABI’s 32nd Annual Spring Meeting, held April 24-27 in Washington, D.C.:

Brian L. Shaw of Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin LLC (Chicago) becomes ABI President for a one-year term, succeeding Patricia A. Redmond of Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Ahadeff & Sitterson, PA (Miami), who now assumes the position of Immediate-Past President. James Patrick Shea of Armstrong Teasdale LLP (Las Vegas), formerly ABI Vice President-Communication & Information Technology, was named President-Elect and will become President in April 2015. James T. Markus of Markus Williams Young & Zimmermann LLC (Denver) succeeds Geoffrey L. Berman of Development Specialists, Inc. (Los Angeles) as Chairman of the Board for a one-year term.

Deborah Thorne of Barnes & Thornburg LLP (Chicago) was named to a two-year term as ABI Vice President-Communication & Information Technology, succeeding James Patrick Shea. Newly named to ABI’s 17-member Executive Committee is Ted Gavin, who was elected to serve a two-year term as Vice President-Development, and Alane Becket of Becket & Lee LLP (Malvern, Pa.), who was elected to serve as Vice President-Publications, succeeding Lynnette Warman of Culhane Meadows PLLC (Dallas), who will remain on the ABI Board. John Tittle, Jr. of Tittle Advisory Group, Inc. (Irving, Texas) was elected to serve another two-year term as Treasurer. Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser (N.D. Texas; Dallas) and Douglas E. Deutsch of Chadbourne & Parke, LLP (New York) were elected to serve on the Executive Committee as At-Large members.

Eleven new ABI members were elected to the ABI Board of Directors: Derek Abbott of Morris, Nichols, Arsht & Tunnell (Wilmington, Del.), Martin Barash of Klee Tuchin Bogdanoff & Stern (Los Angeles), Kathryn Coleman of Hughes Hubbard & Reed (New York), Daniel Dooley of MorrisAnderson (Chicago), Lisa Gretchko of Howard & Howard (Royal Oak, Mich.), Bankruptcy Judge Bruce Harwood (D. N.H.; Manchester), Bankruptcy Judge Laurel Isicoff (S.D. Fla.; Miami), Prof. Lois Lupica of the University of Maine Law School (Portland, Maine), Lorenzo Mendizabal of Epiq Systems, Inc. (New York), Nina Parker of Parker & Associates (Winchester, Mass.) and Robert P. Reynolds of Reynolds, Reynolds & Little (Tuscaloosa, Ala.).

There are 60 members on the ABI Board of Directors. The complete list of directors and officers is available here.

ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, nonpartisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. ABI was founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues. The ABI membership includes more than 13,000 attorneys, accountants, bankers, judges, professors, lenders, turnaround specialists and other bankruptcy professionals, providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information.

Comments From Our Members

You must be an ABL Advisor member to post comments. Login or Join Now.